Uncategorized

The Flowery One

I was skimming the news yesterday, when I caught this gem, from Secretary Rumsfeld:

“I have never painted a rosy picture,” he said. “I’ve been very measured in my words, and you’d have a dickens of a time trying to find instances where I’ve been excessively optimistic.”

I was really hoping that Jon Stewart would have a field day with this. A five minute montage of Rumsfeld predictions, from 2001 on, with a few “whhhaaaaa???”s thrown in. He didn’t so I will have to provide the quotes myself:

Source

2/7/03: “It could last six days, six weeks. I doubt six months.”

Source

2/20/03: “There is no question but that they would be welcomed. Go back to Afghanistan, the people were in the streets playing music, cheering, flying kites, and doing all the things that the Taliban and the al-Qaeda would not let them do.”

Source (note…I tried to link to the original statement at defenselink.gov, but this statement of Rumsfeld’s has been taken down from the defenselink site.)

2/27/03:“What is, I think, reasonably certain is the idea that it would take several hundred thousand U.S. forces I think is far from the mark.”

Source

6/13/03:”You’ve got to remember that if Washington, D.C., were the size of Baghdad, we would be having something like 215 murders a month,” Rumsfeld said. “There’s going to be violence in a big city.”

(not a prediction, but certainly rosy in a roundabout way)

I could probably find more quotes, but I think the first three pre-war predictions are enough to put the lie to Rumsfeld’s assertion that he was never excessively optimistic.

2 thoughts on “The Flowery One

  1. You should check out the clip of his grilling by Hilary Clinton. It’s on crooksandliars.com. She gave him both barrells and his responses were weak, and had little substance. It was very entertaining viewing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

