Barack Obama, Bush, cheney

The new president must also carry a sword

Call me a bastard, but the Democratic victory last night is only the start of the catharsis the United States and the world needs. The glory of the victory (and the speech, here), of the intention behind the victory, is something special to be sure, but one cannot walk away from the damage caused by the Bush Regime with mere intentions and platitudes. 236.com says part of it here:

Speaking of Bush, it is clear now, if it wasn’t before, what his legacy is going to be: Obama.

Obama is going to be Bush’s legacy, but he cannot simply turn the page on history, on Iraq, on Guantanamo Bay, as if a new chapter erases the damage of the old. Amends must be paid, illegally imprisoned released, evils met face to face. Bush and Cheney cannot be allowed to quietly slip into retirement, without being put to the question. If the US is to regain respect it will have to first demonstrate that it stands for justice within as it does without – that is true greatness. Obama has the steel for it, I hope the party and the nation as a whole does, too, because it has to happen.  Seymour Hersh is going to push, but I hope he only is half right:

‘You cannot believe how many people have told me to call them on 20 January [the date of the next president’s inauguration],’ he says, with relish. ‘[They say:] “You wanna know about abuses and violations? Call me then.” So that is what I’ll do, so long as nothing awful happens before the inauguration.’ He plans to write a book about the neocons and, though it won’t change anything – ‘They’ve got away with it, categorically; anyone who talks about prosecuting Bush and Cheney [for war crimes] is kidding themselves‘ – it will reveal how the White House ‘set out to sabotage the system… It wasn’t that they found ways to manipulate Congressional oversight; they had conversations about ending the right of Congress to intervene.’

Perhaps I am fooling myself, but I’d like to think that we won’t just paper over the disaster this century has been so far.

-kvd out

3 thoughts on “The new president must also carry a sword

  1. Bush and Cheney are not going to go to jail, it just couldn’t happen. Too many millions of Americans wouldn’t stand for it, so it won’t be done. Average murderers can be put in jail because at most a family or two would fight for them. But when Bush has still majorities in states who would riot if he were imprisoned, there’s no way to do it. It’s sad, but that’s the world for you.

    Like

  2. As much as I’d like to read Hersh’s book when it does come out I’ll likely give it a miss. I’m not sure that I need to be made that angry over things I can do nothing about. Saskboy, I don’t expect to see much happen either.

    Like

  3. Last night’s victory seemed like a dream, maybe I just wanted it to continue a bit longer… sigh.

    You’re right, unfortunately, but I think it’s too bad, because I don’t think that the US will ever be able to be viewed as an honest broker on the international scene until it’s exorcised some of these demons.

    Like

Leave a Reply

