Uncategorized

I Really Don’t Know Who to Cheer For

Apparently the Conservative party has  found a way to piss off it’s base. Well, part of it anyway,  but it’s the part with the guns so this could get interesting. Thisarticleover at The Globe and Mail about gunowner displeasure with bill S-5, which amends but not scraps the firearms registry claims that the bill is costing the Conservatives money and members. The members being primarily the guys who believe that if the government knows you have a firearm then they’ll take it. “It’s just a matter of time and why are you so naive that you don’t believe this” is the gist of the argument the multiple gun hobbyists  I used to know would give me. My counter-argument was that they didn’t mind registering their damn dog, so what was the problem with doing the same for your lethal weapons? And it was always hobbyists. Noone I met ever needed them for protection or because they’d starve without one.  I should point out here that I’m a member of the armed forces and as such have extensive weapons training. I do not however own a firearm, nor do I see a real need for one outside of my work. Shotguns, rifles and pistols exist to kill the living, be it man or beast and any potential counterpoint about target shooting (which I personly enjoy) can’t negate that fact. For that reason I can’t help but wonder if there’s something else behind this fear of “the government takin’ my guns away”. Look closely at the most vehement opponents of the firearms registry and I’m pretty sure that you’ll find inadequacy issues so deep that you could drill them for oil.  Most of those who own firearms don’t have any real need for them beyond some form of ego stroking.

What I find more interesting though is that to me this is a small rebellion against Harper’s iron fist of opinion control. These are mere party members,  and as such have no reason to fear the Harpenfuhrer’s wrath for expressing an opinion contrary to party goal. That the party’s only real goal at this point seems to be keeping Harper in free housing is a large part of what’s pissing them off I suspect. In any case Harper has shown himself to be remarkable good at blowing with the winds in the past. That the winds rarely blows in the same direction as the people who supported his rise is something that cheers me up to no end. As a military man I like a good explosion and there’s likely a good one coming. On that note let me leave you with this, my final word on the gun ownership issue. Like Scott Adams I think that people should be allowed to own any weapon that they want. However only I can own the ammunition because frankly, I don’t trust the average person who wants a weapon with anything more dangerous than string.

3 thoughts on “I Really Don’t Know Who to Cheer For

  1. In a showdown between Conservative party members and emotionally-repressed hobbyist gun owners, I think I would root for the gun owners. If we can’t beat ’em electorally, maybe we can outlive ’em. 😉

    Like

  2. A lot of this fear is spreading from the states where posse comitatus act is being ignored and the army admits it is training active service troops for use inside the country to quell poplular unrest. The disarming of citizens during Katrina is seen as foreshadowing whats coming.

    I can’t say I blame them, when governments start condoning torture and keeping lists I can see why people are getting paranoid. While these fears are not as valid in Canada the right wing demographic here is being poisoned by U.S. neocon media and blogs.

    I don’t think anyone needs a handgun and I fine with the gun saftey course requirment (even scouts must pass a saftey course to get a pocket knife) but I do not think registration actually reduces crime as the weapons of choice are largely illegal anyway, nor does it make financial sense. Crimes of passion will happen regardless be it gun, knife golf club or hands, and that is more about societal and mental health issues than the weapon of choice.

    Besides what self respecting thug would be caught on the street with my crappy old single barrel 410, or my grandfathers stevens .32 rim fire that you can’t even buy ammunition for, they want large cal or concealable pistols, assault rifles and machine pistols.

    While I can see the point of officers knowing a house has guns before they enter, What good cop does not go into a home ready for trouble? They already know if you’ve applied for a PAL , which is a damn good indicator if you have guns in the house.

    Did $2 billion really achieve anything that could not have been better done spending on border security and more random spot checks on PAL holders?

    Like

  3. Scouts need a pocket knife safety course now? When I was a scout all I needed was thew ability to convince my parents to get me one. Christ, but I’m getting old.

    To be honest I really don’t believe that the registry accomplishes what it claims it would do. Like a lot of people I think it was set up after the uproar caused by the Montreal massacre so that the government could be seen to be doing something to address gun crime. Something no-one with any common sense believes it does as criminals are notoriously reluctant to register their firearms for some reason. I also agree that it’s been astoundingly ineffieciently run and has cost far too much money. Having said that, I have to register my truck and, as I said earlier, my dog (if I had one) and I really don’t have any problem with a requirement for firearms, which are far more dangerous than either, to be registered and tracked. It’s just one tool in the box even if the other more effiecient tools are being woefully under used. Of course, I don’t put any credence in the “They’ll confiscate my guns” argument so that colours my thinking on the subject. Yes, black market weapons are a much larger problem that needs to be addressed and much of that 2 billion+ would have been better spent on that concern. I still think registering firearms is a good idea. Their only real reason for existing is as a tool of destruction and regardless of any other use that may be found for them that’s why they exist. We monitor explosives movement and it’s use is usually far more benificial. Doing the same for firearms is a no-brainer

    Like

Leave a Reply

