Uncategorized

Praise God; Pass the ammo!

This is certainly a weird story, or at least it would be in any other country but the US:
Defense firm etches bible passage codes on it’s gunsights

The inscriptions are subtle and appear in raised lettering at the end of the stock number. Trijicon’s rifle sights use tritium, a radioactive form of hydrogen, to create light and help shooters hit what they’re aiming for.

Markings on the Advanced Combat Optical Gunsight, one of the company’s most advanced models, include “JN8:12,” a reference to John 8:12: “When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, ‘I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.'”

The Trijicon Reflex sight is stamped with 2COR4:6, a reference to part of the second letter of Paul to the Corinthians: “For God, who said, ‘Let light shine out of darkness,’ made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ.”

Praise God in all His glory! I got me one of them Godless Heathens in my sights!

6 thoughts on “Praise God; Pass the ammo!

  1. Saw this already. Comment to follow when the alcohol content is lower. And believe me, I have comments to follow. Fuckin’ god botherers, desperatly trying to co-opt us servicemen for their imaginary superhero who lives in the sky. I hates ’em. I hates ’em all. Reasoned commentary to follow.

    Like

    1. I’m amazed at how much right-wing pundits’ arguments seem to resemble what my nieces/nephews said when they were 5 years old, namely:

      a. Oh yeah, well they do it too!, and

      b. They started it.

      Fortunately, the kids seem to have abandoned that sort of argument as they grew older, mainly because my sisters and brother-in-laws made it abundantly clear that sort of whiny behaviour wasn’t going to go far.

      Like

  2. Okay, reasoned comment time, as opposed to my earlier late night invective. I’m having some difficulty in deciding what aspect of this troubles me more, the underhanded manner in which the company’s owner has snuck some proselitizing onto military weaponry (with all the disturbing implications that that has), or the tawdry lameness of his attempt. Actually, now that I see it in print I’ll think that I’ll be taking option A on this one. It’s obvious that the folks at Trijicon believe in a sterner version of evengelism. It gives them something in common with the intended targets of their optical sights I suppose but this is what got us where we are now. Two differing belief systems that are absolutly convinced that their side is right fighting two different styles of warfare that’s not getting either side anywhere. I suppose that this story is really just a warning sign of a bunch of guys who are willing to take us all down the rathole with them in their effort to prove that they’re right.

    Like

Leave a Reply

