Conservatives, Lying douchebags, right-wing tomfoolery

Interesting news from the propaganda front:

Kory Teneycke resigns from Quebecor

Kory Teneycke, former mouthpiece for Prime Minister Stephen Harper, is leaving his high-powered role at the Sun news organization — replaced by another familiar Conservative name, onetime Brian Mulroney spokesperson Luc Lavoie.

In a surprise move, Teneycke delivered a terse statement on Parliament Hill this morning announcing he is leaving his jobs as the Sun Media’s political news boss in Ottawa and vice-president of development at Quebecor.

I guess having the ear of the P.M. was more of a detriment to the Fox News North crew than an asset? I haven’t been following this news closely, for two reasons: 1) People complaining about Fox News North seem to forget that we already have the (C)onservative TV. Stevie’s propaganda arm is already well stocked with flying monkeys, as the Puffster and Pamela Wallin can attest. One more channel short on facts and high on vitriol would not change the ravaged landscape that is Canadian Television Media that much. Also: 2) I don’t subscribe to cable, so Fox News North wouldn’t actually be getting any money from me.

On that note, I recommend the rest of you quit cable, too. I’m not going back until the cable companies come up with a more compelling business model than “pay for all this shit you don’t want so you can watch the one or two shows out that are actually worth some attention”. No thanks. I can stream the exceedingly rare good stuff from their host sites, and I don’t have to pay for 22 hours of useless, vapid reality TV and well-coiffed E-news. Been there, not doing that again.

But I digress.

I wonder what the real reason is for Kory quitting? I guarantee that “I’m bringing our new nascent channel all sorts of attention and press” isn’t the real reason. Oh poor Fox News North! Getting all sorts of free publicity and exposure to potential advertisers before they even exist! I imagine that 99% of existing channels would kill to have a Kory Teneycke gathering “bad” attention for them. In that business, there’s no bad press, only exposure, coverage, and attention. Three things FNN wants! No, I’m not buying that excuse, sell me another.

I suspect the reason, is this.

According to the release that just hit my inbox, Avaaz has “formally requested that the Ottawa Police and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police begin a criminal investigation to determine the identity of the individual responsible for adding fraudulent signatures from an Ottawa IP address to the organization’s “Stop ‘Fox News North'” petition.”

Indeed, Kory. Perception is reality.

Leave a Reply

